Sign Regulations in Danville, California

Danville, California has specific sign regulations covering 34 sign types across 4 zoning districts. Regulated sign types include Professional Nameplate, Informational Sign, Political Sign. Height restrictions apply. Permits are required for most commercial signs. Use PermitPal to get instant access to the complete regulations.

Data last verified: April 27, 2026

Sign Regulation Overview for Danville, California

Sample Sign Requirements in Danville

Sign TypeMax HeightMax AreaSetback
Professional Nameplate—2 square feet—
Informational Sign—6 square feet total—
Political Sign6 feet6 square feet—

* Sample data shown. Actual requirements may vary by zone. Use PermitPal for complete, location-specific regulations.

PermitPal Coverage for DanvilleFull Coverage

Sign Types Covered

34

  • Professional Nameplate
  • Informational Sign
  • Political Sign
  • Special Event Sign
  • +2 more types

Zoning Districts

4

Different zoning districts with specific sign regulations

Data Includes

  • Permit requirements
  • Height restrictions
  • Illumination rules

Official Resources for Danville

City WebsiteMunicipal Code2 permit application links available

Frequently Asked Questions

Sign height limits in Danville vary by zone and sign type. Wall signs typically range from 25-40 feet, while monument signs are usually limited to 6-10 feet. Use PermitPal to get exact requirements for your property.

To get a sign permit in Danville, submit an application to the local building or planning department with sign dimensions, location, and design specifications. Our data confirms permits are required for most commercial signs. Processing typically takes 1-4 weeks. PermitPal helps you identify specific requirements and prepare complete applications.

In Danville, regulated sign types include Professional Nameplate, Informational Sign, Political Sign, Special Event Sign, and 2 more types. Most commercial signs require permits. Temporary signs and certain small signs may be exempt. Use PermitPal for specific exemptions.

Sign setback requirements in Danville vary by zone and sign type, typically ranging from 5-15 feet from property lines. Use PermitPal for specific setback requirements at your location.

Digital and LED signs in Danville are regulated with specific requirements for brightness, animation, and message duration. Danville has documented illumination rules in our database. Use PermitPal to see the exact requirements for electronic message centers.

AI-Powered Research

Ready to Research Danville Sign Permits?

Stop spending hours searching through municipal codes. Enter your address and PermitPal returns the sign rules that apply to your property in Danville, California — with citations from the municipal code.

No credit card required · Get results in seconds

Danville, California Sign Rules at a Glance

Danville, California regulates 34 sign types across 4 zoning districts. Political Signs in certain zoning districts are capped at 6 feet tall and 6 square feet. Most commercial signs in Danville require a permit.

Detailed Sign Ordinance Requirements for Danville, California

Sign Rules by Zoning District in Danville (4 zones)

Zoning DistrictSign Types RegulatedMax HeightMax AreaPermit Required
Single Family Residential District (R-6, R-7, R-10, R-12, R-15, R-20, R-40, R-65, R-100), Two Family Residential District (D-1), Multiple Family Residential District (M-30, M-25, M-20, M-13, M-8, M-35)1125 feet (pole)35 square feet—
Light Agricultural District (A-1), General Agricultural District (A-2), Agricultural Preserve District (A-4)1125 feet35 square feet—
Limited Office District (O-1), Interchange Transitional District (G-1), Retail Business District (R-B), General Commercial District (C), Light Industrial District (L-I), Planned Unit District (P-1), DBD1, DBD2, DBD3, DBD4, DBD5, DBD6, DBD7, DBD8, DBD9, DBD10, DBD11, DBD12, DBD13, DBD14, DBD15, DBD16, DBD17, DBD18, DBD19, DBD201615 feet75 square feet—
General Regulations For All Zones79 feet 10 inches36 square feet overall; 18x48 inches per component—

Zone-by-Zone Sign Requirements in Danville(sample of 3 of 4 zones)

Single Family Residential District (R-6, R-7, R-10, R-12, R-15, R-20, R-40, R-65, R-100), Two Family Residential District (D-1), Multiple Family Residential District (M-30, M-25, M-20, M-13, M-8, M-35)

Sign TypeMax HeightMax AreaMax WidthSetbackSigns AllowedLocationPermit RequiredPremium Details(Illumination, Size Formula, Permit Requirements, Additional Requirements — available with a free PermitPal account)Ordinance Citation
Political Sign6 feet6 square feet——Not specifiedPrivate property, not in public right-of-way—Unlock32-98.8 h 1
Special Event Sign6 feet6 square feet——Not specifiedPrivate property, not in public right-of-way—Unlock32-98.8 h 2
Real Estate Sign - On-Site Residential6 feet6 square feet (including riders)—10 feet from right-of-way or edge of pavement on corners1 per premisesOn premises for sale/lease—Unlock32-98.16 a
Off-Site Real Estate - Open House/Directional Sign - Residential3 feet4 square feet per side (double-faced)—Not in travel way, sidewalk, etc.1 per direction per companyMajor arterial/collector intersections or secondary streets with permission—Unlock32-98.16 b
Bulletin Board6 feet6 square feet——1Site of educational or religious institution—Unlock32-98.8 d
Flag or Emblem of Government25 feet (pole)3 feet by 5 feet——Not specifiedOn property—Unlock32-98.8 c
Neighborhood Identification Sign7 feet35 square feet—Not in ROW, utility easement, sight triangle1 per street entrance, max 3 per developmentEntry to subdivision, on landscape wall not soundwall—Unlock32-98.14 g 4
On-Site Subdivision Construction Sign12 feet32 square feet—Not in sight triangle1 per subdivision entranceWithin subdivision boundaries—Unlock32-98.17 a

Light Agricultural District (A-1), General Agricultural District (A-2), Agricultural Preserve District (A-4)

Sign TypeMax HeightMax AreaMax WidthSetbackSigns AllowedLocationPermit RequiredPremium Details(Illumination, Size Formula, Permit Requirements, Additional Requirements — available with a free PermitPal account)Ordinance Citation
Political Sign6 feet6 square feet——Not specifiedPrivate property—Unlock32-98.8 h 1
Special Event Sign6 feet6 square feet——Not specifiedPrivate property—Unlock32-98.8 h 2
Real Estate Sign - On-Site Residential6 feet6 square feet—10 ft on corners1 per premisesOn premises—Unlock32-98.16 a
Off-Site Real Estate - Open House/Directional Sign - Residential3 feet4 square feet per side—Not obstructingLimited per intersectionIntersections with conditions—Unlock32-98.16 b
Bulletin Board6 feet6 square feet——1Institution site—Unlock32-98.8 d
Flag or Emblem of Government25 feet15 square feet——Not specifiedOn property—Unlock32-98.8 c
Neighborhood Identification Sign7 feet35 square feet—Outside sight triangleMax 3 per developmentSubdivision entry—Unlock32-98.14 g 4
On-Site Subdivision Construction Sign12 feet32 square feet—Outside sight triangle1 per entranceWithin boundaries—Unlock32-98.17 a

Limited Office District (O-1), Interchange Transitional District (G-1), Retail Business District (R-B), General Commercial District (C), Light Industrial District (L-I), Planned Unit District (P-1), DBD1, DBD2, DBD3, DBD4, DBD5, DBD6, DBD7, DBD8, DBD9, DBD10, DBD11, DBD12, DBD13, DBD14, DBD15, DBD16, DBD17, DBD18, DBD19, DBD20

Sign TypeMax HeightMax AreaMax WidthSetbackSigns AllowedLocationPermit RequiredPremium Details(Illumination, Size Formula, Permit Requirements, Additional Requirements — available with a free PermitPal account)Ordinance Citation
Wall Sign15 feet75 square feet——Max 2 per premises/tenant; multiple on same elevation if different visual orientationAttached to wall, overhang, or covered walkway parallel to wall plane—Unlock32-98.14 b
Awning Sign12 feet20 square feet per awning——1 per elevation, max 2 per businessOn flat vertical plane of awning—Unlock32-98.14 d
Ground Sign (Freestanding)7 feet35 square feet (lots >=125 ft frontage); 20 square feet (100-124 ft frontage)—Not in public ROW, utility easement, sign sight triangle; min lot dimension 100 ft at street1 for single tenant buildings/projectsMinimum 3 ft from back of sidewalk or 2 ft from property line (greater); primary structure setback min 20 ft from ROW—Unlock32-98.14 g 1
Mini-Pole Sign (Freestanding)7 feet +1 ft decorative6 square feet—Not in public ROW or sign sight triangle1 per propertyMin 1 ft from sidewalk or property line (greater)—Unlock32-98.14 g 2
Off-Site Commercial Identification Sign7 feet +1 ft decorativeDetermined by Design Review Board—Not in public ROW or sign sight distance triangle1 per qualifying intersection sideMin 1 ft from sidewalk or property line (greater); Downtown Business District only—Unlock32-98.14 g 3
Temporary/Promotional Sign - A-Frame2.5 feet5 square feet——Max 2 per business at a timeNot obstructing pedestrian path or in public ROW—Unlock32-98.15 b
Real Estate Sign - On-Site Commercial15 feet (wall); 7 feet (ground) or 12 feet if setback 30 ft32 sq ft per face (double-faced, >=125 ft frontage); 16 sq ft (>=125 ft, corner 2x16); 16 sq ft lease/rent; 8 sq ft per face corner <125 ft—Not encroaching pedestrian walkway or obstructing sight; ground min 30 ft setback for 12 ft height1 per street frontageOn premises for sale/lease/rent (multi-family investment, commercial, industrial, office)—Unlock32-98.16 c
On-Site Nonresidential Construction Sign12 feet32 sq ft (>=125 ft frontage); 24 sq ft (<125 ft)—Not in public ROW; not interfering with sign sight triangles1 per projectWithin property boundaries of construction site—Unlock32-98.17 b

PermitPal covers all 4 zoning districts in Danville. Run a code check for your exact address to get the zone that applies to your property and its full sign requirements — illumination rules, size formulas, and permit requirements for every sign type — with a free account.

Run a code check for your exact address — free

Prohibited Signs in Danville

  • Tethered signs
  • Signs designed, placed, or oriented for freeway exposure, except for building frontages facing in the direction of the freeway
  • Mobile, moving, flashing or blinking signs
  • Nonaccessory signs
  • Dilapidated signs
  • Portable trailer signs
  • Signs attached to or painted on a sound wall, fence, or vehicle parked for the purpose of advertising to the public
  • Signs supported by exposed wires or cables
  • Roof signs
  • Electrified reader boards with a moving display
  • All temporary or political signs located in the public right-of-way, fixed to any improvement, structure or landscaping located in the public right-of-way or located on any property or structure owned by the Town of Danville (with limited exception for signs tied to the Danville Oak Tree)
  • Laser signs
  • Advertising or promotion of any tobacco products on an advertising display sign in a publicly visible location within one thousand six hundred (1,600) feet of the perimeter of an elementary or secondary school, public park or public playground (with specified exceptions)

Exempt Signs in Danville

  • A sign placed by a public utility or the Town of Danville for the safety or welfare of the public, such as a sign identifying high voltage, underground cable or related to the construction of Town capital improvement projects (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)
  • An official fire or police related sign, or a sign required to be posted and maintained by law or governmental order, such as a public health warning, traffic, parking or similar regulatory device, legal device or warning at a railroad crossing (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)
  • A flag or emblem of a government which is smaller than three (3) feet by five (5) feet in size and displayed on a maximum twenty-five (25) foot pole (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)
  • A bulletin board, not exceeding six (6) square feet in area and six (6) feet in height, on the site of an educational or religious institution relating to an activity conducted at, or sponsored, by the institution (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)
  • A professional nameplate, street address or historic tablet sign less than two (2) square feet in area (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)
  • Informational signs such as hours of operation, 'open' signs (including neon) located inside a window less than four (4) square feet, directional signs, credit cards honored or membership in civic, business or professional organizations (total not to exceed six (6) square feet in area at an individual establishment) (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)
  • A barber pole sign not exceeding three (3) feet in height (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)
  • Any of the following temporary signs where such signs do not exceed six (6) square feet in area and six (6) feet in height and may not be placed in the public right of way: political sign (removed within ten (10) days after election), special event sign advertising a community-wide event (placed for thirty (30) days or less), one (1) sign designating property for sale or lease, open house/directional—residential real estate signs (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)
  • Changeable copy or message portion of a theater marquee or reader board (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)
  • A sign placed on the interior of a building that cannot be seen by the general public from the exterior (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)
  • Holiday decorations, light and displays, placed no more than forty-five (45) days before a holiday and removed within ten (10) days after the holiday, except the Christmas holidays where they shall be removed within thirty (30) days after Christmas (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)
  • Construction and/or advisory signs installed by the Town of Danville (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)
  • Special event signs on the Town-installed banner poles (exempt from permit but must comply with other regulations)

Sign Plan & Submission Notes for Danville

  • A master sign program permit is required to allow the owner or occupants of an individual building or group of buildings having a common architectural style (including shopping centers) to develop a comprehensive sign program for the complex
  • A master sign program permit is required for all projects with internal illumination; sign programs which include internal illumination may, at the discretion of the Chief of Planning, be referred to the Planning Commission
  • Internally illuminated signs require approval of a master sign program
  • The master sign program permit shall be issued by the Chief of Planning after Design Review Board review and approval, or at the discretion of the Chief of Planning, the application may be referred to the Planning Commission for consideration and action
  • After a master sign program permit is approved, no person shall install individual signs without first obtaining a separate sign permit, unless the master sign permit specifically allows administrative approval prior to issuance of a building permit
  • Artistic sign programs that do not meet standards may require approval of an exception per subsection 32-98.7
  • All exceptions to the sign standards in subsection 32-98.14 shall be reviewed by the Design Review Board per subsection 32-98.7
  • Upon application, the Design Review Board or Chief of Planning may grant an exception to a regulation in this article, or at the discretion of the Chief of Planning, the application may be referred to the Planning Commission
  • All permit applications for wall painted signs shall be approved by the Design Review Board
  • All neon or fiber optic signs require review and approval by the Chief of Planning prior to installation
  • The Chief of Planning or Design Review Board may refer an application to the Planning Commission for consideration and action

Source: amlegal municipal code